News Header

    Appointment of 2022-2023 Heed Fellows


    The Heed Ophthalmic Foundation and the Society of Heed Fellows are pleased to announce the appointment of the following 2022-2023 Heed Fellows:

    Rolake O. Alabi, MD, PhD
    Bryce Chiang, MD
    Andrew Clark, MD, PhD
    Emily D. Cole, MD
    Jacob T. Cox, MD
    Jose R. Davila, MD
    Stephanie B. Engelhard, MD
    Jennifer Enright, MD, PhD
    Benjamin J. Fowler, MD, PhD
    Angela C. Gauthier, MD
    Grant Justin, MD
    Aaron R. Kaufman, MD
    Benyam Kinde, MD, PhD
    Anne L. Kunkler, MD
    Ariana M. Levin, MD
    Alcina K. Lidder, MD
    David A. Ramirez, MD
    Jasdeep Sabharwal, MD, PhD
    Jesse D. Sengillo, MD
    Zujaja Tauqeer, MD
    Alexa R. Thibodeau, MD
    Ives Antonio Valenzuela, MD
    Karen M. Wai, MD

    Resident Retreat Update


    The 2022 Resident Retreat will occur on May 21-22, 2022 in Denver, Colorado. This is a rescheduled retreat for the residents invited to participate last year.

    Next year’s retreat will occur in May 2023 (changed from the usual September timing). The process and timing for nominations, which will open several months in advance of the retreat, will be announced when these details are available.

    Heed Luncheon


    The Heed Luncheon is held each year during the American Academy of Ophthalmology meeting. All former Heed Fellows are invited to attend.

    The event includes a brief reception followed by a sit-down luncheon. The program includes updates on the Heed Foundation and the Society of Heed Fellows activities, and the presentation of the current year's Heed-Gutman Award.

    The 2022 Heed Luncheon will be held on Saturday, October 1, 11:30 am - 1:30 pm at the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place in the Adler CC/24 Room.

    Advance registration will open in May and is required for attendance.

    Heed Fellowship Application News for 2022


    Dear Applicants, Residency Program Directors, Department Chairs, and Fellowship Preceptors,

    The Heed Ophthalmic Foundation is revising its web-based application process to make it completely digital. The new website will become available the first week of January 2022. The application cycle for the 2022 Heed Fellowships runs from January 1, 2022 to March 1, 2022.

    The new application includes several significant changes. There will now be only two required letters - one letter from the Department Chair or the Residency Program Director (a combined letter is also acceptable), and a second letter from the Fellowship Preceptor. Applicants will initiate an email from their application to request letters of recommendation. The request will include a link for the letter writer to upload the letter directly to the individual's application. Applicants will waive the right to see the letter. The letters will not be visible to Applicants, however, they will be able to check their application to see if letters have been uploaded.

    Additional changes for Applicants includes the the submission of a biosketch form and a 500 word limit on the personal statement.

    We encourage all eligible applicants to apply, but to prevent duplicating effort, please do not start the application process until the new application has launched.

    Please contact Lisa Brown at [email protected] with any questions.

    Kind regards,

    David Wilson
    Executive Secretary, Heed Ophthalmic Foundation

    Appointment of 2021-2022 Heed Fellows


    The Heed Ophthalmic Foundation and the Society of Heed Fellows are pleased to announce the appointment of the following 2021-2022 Heed Fellows:

    Ishrat Ahmed, MD, PhD
    Hasenin Al-khersan, MD
    Paramjit Kaur Bhullar, MD
    Randy Christopher Bowen, MD, MS
    Rebecca I. Chen, MD
    Charles Meno Theodore DeBoer, MD, PhD
    Jenny Dohlman, MD
    Eliot Robert Dow, MD, PhD
    Emily Ann Eton, MD
    Paula Wu Feng, MD
    Lauren Michele Hennein, MD
    Levi N. Kanu, MD
    Edward Korot, MD
    Nicole Koulisis, MD
    Danny Mammo, MD
    Suzanne Marie Michalak, MD
    Michael Sena Quist, MD
    Noam Daniel Rudnick, MD, PhD
    Patrick Charles Staropoli, MD
    Clayton Ellis Wisely, MD, MBA
    Annie Mao Wu, MD
    Benjamin K. Young, MD